Faculty & Staff

The faculty of Heritage School is one of the finest of schools in the southwest Texas region. The quality and dedication of the entire faculty and staff is remarkable. The most important emphasis of the mission-minded faculty is developing character in young people who are focused on Christ-centered, life-long learning at the highest levels in an environment where the student-to-teacher ratio averages less than 16/1.

Heritage School’s requirements for faculty are in many ways more stringent than those required by other schools. All teachers and staff are required to be of impeccable character, role models in the community, and active members of a church with the ability to profess their Christian faith openly and in writing prior to being considered for a position at Heritage.

The current faculty at Heritage averages 16+ years of experience in their area of expertise with every full-time faculty member possessing a Bachelor’s degree, at a minimum. More than 60% of the members of our current faculty have achieved advanced degrees. The majority of our teachers are state certified with some having earned multiple certifications. The most significant qualifications that we consider are a teacher’s dedication and character, expertise in their field, and commitment to life-long learning.

Heritage is dedicated to providing annual professional development opportunities for all faculty and staff that stimulate the intellect and encourage an excitement for teaching. Each year a minimum of 1%-2% of the overall operating budget is designated strictly for professional development of the faculty and staff. The love of life-long learning by our faculty instills that same core value in students preparing them to be the leaders of tomorrow.



Acton
Chris Acton
Head of School

B.B.A Marketing - University of Texas, Austin
M.A. Biblical Studies - Dallas Theological Seminary

Email: chris.acton@heritageschool.org



Wendy Ashley
Wendy Ashley
3rd Grade

B.S. Elementary Education - University of Memphis

Email: wendy.ashley@heritageschool.org



Teresa Basse
Teresa Basse, CPA
Business Director

B.A. Accounting - Texas Lutheran University
Certified Public Accountant - State of Texas

Email: teresa.basse@heritageschool.org



Nora Brantley
Nora Brantley
6th - 7th Grade

Areas of Instruction: English, Old Testament, Bible, Organizational/Study Skills

B.A. Early Childhood & Elementary Education - University of Texas, San Antonio

Email: nora.brantley@heritageschool.org



Bill Eggleston
Bill Eggleston
6th - 11th Grade

Areas of Instruction: History

B.A. History & English - Texas State University
M.A. Public Administration/Justice - Golden Gate University

Email: bill.eggleston@heritageschool.org



Edward Elizondo
Edward Elizondo
9th - 12th Grade

Areas of Instruction: Mathematics, Robotics

B.S. Electrical Engineering - Lamar University

Email: edward.elizondo@heritageschool.org



Karen Fouse
Grammar School Art

B.A. Mulitdisciplinary Studies (Early Childhood Education) - Texas Lutheran University

Email: karen.fouse@heritageschool.org



Esteban Garza
Esteban Garza
Director of Strategic Initiatives

B.B.A Finance - Texas A&M University, College Station

Email: esteban.garza@heritageschool.org



Tami Given
Dr. Tami Given
Athletic Director

B.S. Biomedical Sciences - Texas A&M University, College Station
Doctor of Medicine - Texas A&M Health & Science Center

Email: tami.given@heritageschool.org



Suzanne Gray
Suzanne Gray
2nd Grade

B.S. Elementary Education - Baylor University
M.A. Childhood Education - Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary

Email: suzanne.gray@heritageschool.org



Nancy Hierholzer
Nancy Hierholzer
Director of Grammar School

B.A. English/French - University of Texas, Austin
M.A. English – St. Mary’s University

Email: nancy.hierholzer@heritageschool.org



Liz Ludwig
Liz Ludwig
3rd Grade

B.S. Interdisciplinary Studies (Elementary Education) - Texas Woman's University

Email: elizabeth.ludwig@heritageschool.org



Stephen Mackintosh
Upper School Faculty

B.E. Civil Engineering - University of Texas, Austin

Areas of Instruction: Apologetics, Bible

Email: stephen.mackintosh@heritageschool.org



Suzanne McComack
Suzanne McComack
Upper School Art

B.A. Art Education K-12 - Texas A&M - Kingsville
Masters of Art Education - Texas Tech University

Email: suzanne.mccomack@heritageschool.org



Michelle McDowell
Michelle McDowell
1st Grade

B.A. English - Texas A&M University, Corpus Christi
M.S. Secondary Education - Texas A&M University, Corpus Christi

Email: michelle.mcdowell@heritageschool.org



Jamey Parsons
Jamey Parsons
Facilities Director

B.S. Behavioral Science - Hardin-Simmons University
M.E. Sports and Recreation Management - Hardin-Simmons University

Email: jamey.parsons@heritageschool.org



Kevin Perez
Kevin Perez
Coach, P.E.

Email: kevin.perez@heritageschool.org



Lori Pressler
Lori Pressler
8th - 12th Grade

Areas of Instruction: Environmental Science, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Rockets & Robotics

B.S. Biomedical Science – Texas A&M University, College Station

Email: lori.pressler@heritageschool.org



Jean Sauer
Jean Sauer
Admissions Director, Registrar

Email: jean.sauer@heritageschool.org



Dee Schumann
Dee Schumann
Administrative

Email: dee.schumann@heritageschool.org



Rebecca Shipman
Rebecca Shipman
Kindergarten

B.S. Elementary Education - Texas A&M University, College Station

Email: rebecca.shipman@heritageschool.org



Lauren Spraggins
Upper School Faculty

Areas of Instruction: Latin

Email: lauren.spraggins@heritageschool.org



Cheryl Stollenwerck
Cheryl Stollenwerck
5th Grade

B.A. English/Speech Communication - Midwestern State University
M.S. Applied Psychology & School Psychology - Texas A&M University, Commerce

Lifetime Certificate: Special Education Teacher Licensed Specialist in School Psychology

Email: cheryl.stollenwerck@heritageschool.org



Brad Sultemeier
Brad Sultemeier
Director of Logic School

Areas of Instruction: History, Economics, Bible, Logic School Math

B.S. Ag Economics – Texas A&M University
M.S. Land Economics & Real Estate - Texas A&M University
Post-Graduate Education Certification Program: K-8 Reading Specialist - Texas State University

Email: brad.sultemeier@heritageschool.org



Lisa Sultemeier
7th - 10th Grade

Areas of Instruction: English, Literature, Bible

B.S. English – Texas A&M University
M.S. K-8 Reading Specialist - Texas State University

Email: lisa.sultemeier@heritageschool.org



David Turpin
David Turpin
Director of Rhetoric School

Areas of Instruction: Spanish, Rhetoric/Sr Thesis, Government, Apologetics

B.A. Philosophy/Spanish - UCLA
J.D. – University of Texas School of Law

Email: david.turpin@heritageschool.org



Donna Vaughan
Donna Vaughan
Music

B.M. Music Education - University of Texas, Austin

Email: donna.vaughan@heritageschool.org



Kerri Zschappel
Kerri Zschappel
4th Grade

B.S. Elementary Education - Baylor University; Certified 1st - 8th grades in Texas
M.S. Instructional Technology - University of Houston

Email: kerri.zschappel@heritageschool.org